|
Name |
Description |
Link |
|
Academic Search Complete |
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. |
|
|
AccessEngineering |
Full-text access to McGraw-Hill’s Engineering publications; also includes instructional videos, interactive tables and charts. |
|
|
AccessMedicine |
A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medicine |
|
|
AccessScience |
Access Science provides online access to over 8,500 online articles from the tenth edition of the McGraw Hill Encyclopaedia of Science & Technology. Articles include bibliographies, links to evaluated related websites and over 15,000 illustrations and graphics. |
|
|
Africa Portal OPEN ACCESS |
The Africa Portal is an online knowledge resource for policy-related issues on Africa. A full-text collection of books, journals and documents on African policy issues. Covers conflict resolution, food security, health, migration and climate change. |
|
|
African Journal archive OPEN ACCESS |
A full-text open access, multi-disciplinary digital archive of research published in Africa |
|
|
ALUKA |
Scholarly materials contributed by Aluka’s partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides. |
|
|
Amazon.com |
Internet bookstore |
|
|
BBC College of Journalism |
Journalism skills, safety, specialist areas, legal and ethical issues from the BBC Academy. Includes the BBC News style guide. |
|
|
BioMed Central OPEN ACCESS |
Open access peer-reviewed biomedical research. |
|
|
Britannica Image Quest |
A searchable database of over a million rights-cleared digital images from over 50 of the best collections in the world, including: Action Plus, Photo Researchers, images, Encyclopaedia Britannica; coverage is multidisciplinary. |
|
|
Britannica Online |
Full text online version of the well-known encyclopaedia; an authoritative multidisciplinary reference and research resource; includes Britannica’s latest article database, articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), Britannica’s Book of the Year, as well as links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors |
|
|
Business Source Complete |
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. |
|
|
Cambridge Journals online |
A selection of medical journals that we subscribe to, providing full-text access to the journals published by Cambridge University Press. |
|
|
ChemSpider OPEN ACCESS |
A free chemical structure database providing fast text- and structure-search access to over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources. |
|
|
The Cochrane Library |
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. |
|
|
Cinahl |
Full text for more than 760 nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database plus additional resources including Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and more. |
|
|
Clinicalkey |
ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool owned by medical and scientific publishing company Elsevier that offers access to the medical library published by that company. |
|
|
DOAJ – Directory of Open Access Journal OPEN ACCESS |
Provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed scholarly journals published in open access. |
|
|
Directory of Open Access Books OPEN ACCESS |
Provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published in open access. |
|
|
Directory of Open Access Repositories OPEN ACCESS |
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. |
|
|
Ebscohost |
A multidisciplinary collection of databases: |
http://0-search.ebscohost.com.wam.seals.ac.za/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost |
|
Emerald |
Provides access to articles in various areas of management, accounting, finance and economics, as well as education, and information-and-knowledge management. Full text from 1994 – present. |
|
|
Emerald Engineering |
The Emerald Engineering Database is a self-contained online collection of 19 internationally recognized journals covering all major aspects of engineering and technology. |
Emerald URL |
|
ERIC |
Educational Resources Information Centre. A source of education information, with abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. |
|
|
Forward to Freedom: The history of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement 1959- 1994 OPEN |
A database documenting the history of the anti-apartheid movement in South Africa. It describes the campaigns it organised, such as the consumer and sports boycotts, arms embargo and support for political prisoners, and the groups involved, ranging from students and trade unions to local authorities and professional groups. Includes videos, documents, posters, photographs, badges and other items. |
|
|
Free Medical Journals |
Over the next years, the most important medical journals will be available online, free and in full-text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge – the new standard in medical publishing – will have a major impact on medical practice. |
|
|
Nexus |
These databases contributes to knowledge generation for the support and promotion of research development. They facilitate access to ensure the utilisation of research results, technology and innovation. |
|
|
Free Medical Journals (OMICS) OPEN ACCESS |
The free medical journals are completely open access journals and publish high quality articles from the corners of the globe to update the recent developments in the fields of medical sciences. Along with the free peer-reviewed medical journals, OMICS International is also publishing nearly 700 best open access journals with high impact with the support of 50000 well qualified and reputed editorial board members and organizing 1000 international conferences every year throughout the world and it is also associated with 1000 scientific associations. |
|
|
Free Dictionaries |
It is a free online dictionary including online references. |
|
|
Free Thesaurus |
Free Thesaurus is a comprehensive online thesaurus of synonyms, antonyms, and related words. The thesaurus contains more than 145,800 unique entries from three top sources: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language – Complete and Unabridged, The American Heritage Roget’s Thesaurus, and WordNet.
|
|
|
Google Books |
Search the world’s most comprehensive index of full-text books. |
|
|
Google Scholar |
Google Scholar allows you to search across a wide range of academic literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly. |
|
|
Green File |
Green FILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. |
|
|
Health Source Consumer Edition |
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. |
|
|
IEEE/IET Electronic Library |
A collection of technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from the IEEE. Provides citations and abstracts for periodicals and conference proceedings of the IEEE and IEE, and full text access to 120 online IEEE society-sponsored journals and magazines from 1998 – present |
|
|
Taylor & Francis OPEN ACCESS |
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals, with no subscription content. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer reviewed and expedited online publication. Authors have the option of publishing their open access article under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license, as mandated by some research funders. |
|
|
Ingenta Connect |
Ingenta connect from Publishing Technology is the world’s largest resource for scholarly publications. |
|
|
ISI Web of Science |
An academic citation index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions. |
|
|
JSTOR |
A scholarly archive of journals in the arts and sciences, Provide access to a complete back run — reaching back to vol. I, no. 1 — for every JSTOR participating journal, with the help of publishers and libraries |
|
|
Juta |
South African law reports, statutes, journals and other commentary publications to meet the requirements of a diverse range of legal information users. Subject coverage ranges from administrative, civil procedure, commercial, constitutional, criminal, intellectual property, international, labour, mining, revenue and shipping law. |
https://sierra.seals.ac.za/iii/cas/login?service=https%3A%2F%2Fsierra.seals.ac.za%3A443 |
|
LexisNexis |
Provides access to a variety of news, business and legal resources. |
|
| Master File Premier | Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. | Master file Premier URL |
| Medline | MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. | Medline URL |
| Newspaper Source | Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. | Newspaper Source URL |
| Proquest | This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. | http://0-search.proquest.com.wam.seals.ac.za |
| Regional Business News | This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. | RBN URL |
| Sabinet: Open Access Journal Collection OPEN ACCESS | A multidisciplinary collection of South African full open access journals. Includes titles that are accredited by the DHET; full text availablity varies according to title with journals going back to 2000 | http://0-reference.sabinet.co.za.wam.seals.ac.za/ |
| Sage | Collection of medicine journals. | http://0-online.sagepub.com.wam.seals.ac.za |
| SACat | Full text collection of South African and African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications | http://0-www.journals.co.za.wam.seals.ac.za |
| Sciencedirect | A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to journals published by Elsevier, including the archival back issues. Strong in scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature, but also covers Arts, Humanities and Social sciences. Excludes association titles. | http://0-www.sciencedirect.com.wam.seals.ac.za |
| Sciencedirect e-books | ScienceDirect now includes over 5,300 monograph and series books, including those published under the renowned Pergamon Press and Academic Press imprints, offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines. The eBooks collections are available in 26 subject collections per year of publication. | Science E-Books URL |
| SciFinder | A core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering fields. | https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder/ |
| SpringerLink | A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer. | http://0-www.springerlink.com.wam.seals.ac.za |
| SpringerLink OPEN ACCESS | Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from open access journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. | http://link.springer.com/search?facet-content-type=%22Journal%22&showAll=false |
| Taylor and Francis | A selection of medical journals that we subscribe to, providing full-text access to the journals published by Taylor and Francis from 1997- present. | http://0-www.tandfonline.com.wam.seals.ac.za |
| Wiley | A selection of medical journals that we subscribe to, providing full-text access to the journals published by Wiley. | http://0-onlinelibrary.wiley.com.wam.seals.ac.za/ |
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles from the best minds in medicine , updated content, thousand of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. It is a customizable, intuitive search experience designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research, with many full text and secondary databases available.
ScienceDirect is the leading platform of peer-reviewed literature that helps you move your research forward. ScienceDirect supports an uninterrupted workflow by allowing researchers to move seamlessly between books and journals, across topics and disciplines.
ISI Web of Knowledge is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It is a multidisciplinary database and covers over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.