Skip to Main Content

Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences: Harvard Referencing Style

A guide portal for the Faculty of Commerce and Administration

Introduction

Please note that there are many variations to the Harvard referencing style. Please discuss your referencing style with your supervisor before you start, as it is the prerogative of your supervisor to advise you on the preferred referencing style. Learn as much as possible about the correct method of referencing and apply it consistently in your work.

Important things to remember

  • You need to provide enough information in your list of references to ensure that your reader can identify and locate the sources.
  • If the reference continues onto a second and third line, the subsequent lines are indented

Pay particular attention to the following

  • citation order;
  • use of capital letters;
  • use of italics (underlining is permitted in handwritten or conventionally typed documents, while italics are preferred if you are using a word processor);
  • indentations or spacing;
  • use of a single ('  ') and double ("  ") quotation marks;
  • use of round (  ) and square [  ] brackets;
  • use of the ampersand, i.e. &;
  • the year of publication, which is not enclosed in brackets;
  • the edition, which is to be included from the revised or second edition upwards (this is not necessary for the first edition). 

The examples in this guide do not necessarily refer to actual published texts

This guide does not include all types of texts

Acknowledgement: This presentation is based on the Bibliographic Style & Reference Techniques by Marlene Burger.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

A bibliography is far more comprehensive than a list of references, as it is an alphabetical list of all materials consulted, in addition to those cited in the text http://www.apastyle.org/faqa.html

CITATION

A line that identifies the source of a statement, and occurs in the body of a paper. It is also called an in-text citation, for example

(Author(s), publication year:pages)

(Palmer, 2010:12)

CITATION STYLES

​​A citation style shows the format you need to use when presenting your in-text citations and bibliographies  There are a number of citation styles, e.g. APA, Harvard, Chicago etc. and which one is used can depend on the academic discipline. They all convey the same information,  but they present it differently. 

HARVARD REFERENCING STYLE

This method involves name-and-date references in the text, with an alphabetically arranged list of sources

  • WSU uses the Augmented Harvard Reference Style

  • It is the prerogative of the promoter/ supervisor to prescribe the style to be used

  • Always consult with your supervisor first

  • This presentation is based on the Bibliographic Style & Reference Techniques by Marlene Burger

LIST OF REFERENCES

Alphabetically lists all references cited in the text of a paper at the end of a paper.  This means that all items contained in the list of references must be cited within the text

PARAPHRASING

  • Paraphrasing is when you make use of someone else’s ideas, but put them into your own words, and according to your personal style of writing (thus avoiding plagiarism)

  • Generally, it is better to paraphrase than to quote

  • Ensure that you formulate others’ ideas in such a way that it blends in nicely with your own writing style

  • Do not misrepresent the other person’s ideas in order to suit your purposes

  • As with quotations, acknowledge the source of your ideas using the prescribed referencing method

PRIMARY SOURCE

Refers to a specific source that an author has written

QUOTATION

When you quote the exact words of an author

  • Use inverted commas (“ “) directly before and after the quoted text

  • Acknowledge the source of the quotation in line with the referencing method prescribed by your department or subject field

           "... describes how services marketing works in practice"  (Palmer, 1998: 23)

REFERENCE

This refers to a document consulted in your research. It should include all the bibliographic details needed to trace the document, for example   

 Author’s Surname, Initials. Year of publication. Title of book (in italics). Edition. Place of publication: Publisher.

 Palmer,  A. 1998. Principles of services marketing. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw- Hill

SECONDARY SOURCE

Refers to material which is written as an interpretation, criticism or research about an author or subject

REFERENCING SECONDARY SOURCES

Secondary referencing occurs when you wish to quote a source that appears in something you have read, but you have not had access to the original source. You have to rely on the author who you are reading to give a fair reflection of the contents of the original work. Wherever possible, it is important to read the original work, but this may be difficult in some instances. If you still have to refer to a secondary reference, your references must clearly indicate that while you have read the secondary source, you have not read the original source.

This is only acceptable under extreme circumstances. It is important to consult the original material to ensure that you understand the context of what was discussed.

Examples:

Research used by Smith (2000) regarding services marketing, shows that the indicators formulated by Grant (1994) in his PhD thesis entitled   Services marketing in transportation (Dunhill University) are applicable to the airline industry.

The work by Smith (2000) will be included in your bibliography, as this is where you read about Grant’s research.  However, the work by Grant (1994) is not included. You cannot include details about the original study, as you have not consulted it.

Referencing books

IN-TEXT CITATION

Barrow (1999) ...

.... (Barrow, 1999)

"....." (Barrow, 1999:34)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE

Author’s Surname, Initials. ed. (if applicable) Year of publication. Title of the book. Edition. (if applicable) Place of publication: Publisher.

If it is the first edition of the book, this is not included.

Note: The same principles of ‘and’ versus ‘&’, and the principles regarding the number of authors, are applicable to the citing and referencing of journal articles

EXAMPLES OF PRINTED BOOKS

Barrow, J. ed. 1999.  Cases in services marketing.  New York: McGraw-Hill.

Cooper, P., Codd, J. & Smith, L. 1998. Research methods for management. London: ABC Publications.

Dent, P. & Jones, R. 1994. Planning at work. London: ABC Publications.

Palmer, A. 1998. Principles of services marketing. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill.

FORMAT OF AN ELECTRONIC BOOK

Author’s Surname, Initials. Year of publication. Title of the book. (in italics) [online] Edition. Place of publication: Publisher.  Available from:<url> [Accessed date].

EXAMPLE OF AN ELECTRONIC BOOK

Lasserre, P. 2003. Global Strategic Management [online]. 2nd ed. New York: Palgrave MacMillan. Available from: <http://www.netlibrary.com> [Accessed on: 2 November 2006].

CONFERENCES

IN-TEXT CITATION

Andersson (2001) ...

.... (Andersson, 2001)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A CONFERENCE PROCEEDING

Author or Editor’s Surname, Initials. Year. Title of conference and subtitle (including location and date of conference) (in italics). Publisher.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A PRINTED CONFERENCE PROCEEDING

Andersson, T. ed. 2001. Getting started with electronic commerce: proceedings of the 1st  International Conference on Electronic Commerce, Geneva, October 2-4, 2001. E-Commerce Unlimited.

FORMAT OF CITATION

Wheeler (2001) ...

.... (Wheeler, 2001)

"....." (Wheeler, 2001:130)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A CONFERENCE PAPER

Surname of Author of the paper, Initials. Year of publication. ‘Title of paper’. In: Editor’s Surname, Initials. ed. Title of conference and subtitle,   Place, Date (in italics). Publisher: page numbers of the individual conference paper.

Note that the title of the paper is placed in quotation marks and the title of the full conference proceedings is in italics, or underlined if your work is handwritten or you have used a conventional typewriter.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A PRINTED CONFERENCE PAPER

Wheeler, D. 2001.  ‘Getting to grips with the e-supply chain’.  In: Andersson, T. ed.  Getting started with electronic commerce: proceedings of the  1st International Conference on Electronic Commerce, Geneva, October 2-4, 2001.  E-commerce Unlimited. 121-139.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO  AN UNPUBLISHED ELECTRONIC CONFERENCE PAPER

Julian, C.C. 2011. 'The relationship between industry structure, marketing capabilities, strategy and performance: the empirical link in export ventures', paper presented to The Clute Institute International Academic Conference, Las Vegas, 10-12 October. Available from: <http://conferences.cluteonline.com/index.php/IAC/2011LV/paper/view/619> [Accessed on: 17 August 2014]

For unpublished papers, include the phrase ‘paper presented at...’ before the name of the conference. You do not need to put the conference name in italics

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO  AN ELECTRONIC CONFERENCE PAPER

Bayne, S & Ross, J. 2007. 'The ‘digital native’ and ‘digital immigrant’: a dangerous opposition',  paper presented at the Annual Conference of the Society for Research into Higher Education (SRHE), Brighton, Sussex, 11-13 December 2007. ​Available from: <http://www.malts.ed.ac.uk>[Accessed on: 3 October 2010]

Referencing Dissertations and Theses

IN-TEXT CITATION

Smith (2000) ...

.... (Smith, 2000)

"....." (Smith, 200:145)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A DISSERTATION OR THESES

Author’s Surname, Initials. Year of completion. Title. Degree. Name of Institution, Place.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN UNPUBLISHED PRINTED THESES

Smith, J. 2000. An investigation of the impact of services marketing on the airline industry. DBL thesis. University of South Africa, Pretoria.
 

Note: As this is an unpublished work, the title will not be italicised.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A PUBLISHED THESES

Mhlongo, L. B. 2017. The effect and impact of national and international law on foreign investment in South Africa. University of South Africa, Pretoria.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN ELECTRONIC THESES

Van Beek, R. 2016. A comparative study between the three phases of retirement with regard to the practical retirement planning process. Master of Accounting Science. University of South Africa, Pretoria. Available from: <http://hdl.handle.net/10500/23683>. [Accessed on: 17 May 2017]

Referencing Reference Material

Encyclopaedias, subject dictionaries and dictionaries are usually alphabetically arranged and may consist of many volumes. Attributing authorship is not always practical, especially if all the contributors are listed on the title page, and reference works are often known better by their titles than their authors.

IN-TEXT CITATION

According to the International Encyclopedia of Business and Management .... (1996).

... (Warner, 1996)

... (Heller, 1996: 2541)

FORMAT OF REFERENCING REFERENCE MATERIAL

It is easiest to cite reference material according to the title, as follows:

Title (in italics). Year. Place of publication: Publisher.

Under the name of the editor:

Editor’s Surname, Initials. ed. Year. Title. (in italics). Place of Publication: Publisher.

Under the name of the contributing author:

Author’s Surname, Initials. Date. ‘Title of contribution’. In: Editor’s Surname, Initials. ed(s). Title of reference work. (in italics). Place of publication: Publisher. Page numbers of individual contribution.

It will depend on which of the three options you have selected, that is, to cite it according to the title of the reference work, name of the editor, or name of the contributing author. 

EXAMPLES OF REFERENCE SOURCES

International encyclopedia of business & management. 6 vols. 1996. ed. Warner, W.  London: Routledge (by title)

Concise Oxford dictionary of current English.1995. ed. by Thompson, D. 9th ed. Oxford: Claredon Press. (by title)

Warner, M. ed. 1996. International encyclopedia of business & management. 6 vols. London: Routledge. (by editor)

Heller, F. 1996. ’Leadership’. In: Warner, M. ed. International encyclopedia of business & management. Vol 3. London: Routledge. 2541-2549. (by contributing author)

 

EXAMPLE OF AN ELECTRONIC REFERENCE SOURCE

Title. Year of publication. Edited by: Surname, Initials. Publisher. Available from: <url>  >[Accessed date]

Dictionary of Psychology. 2006. Edited by:  Colman, A.M.  Oxford Reference Online.  Oxford University Press.  Available from <http://0-www.oxfordreference.com.oasis.unisa.ac.za/view/10.1093/acref/9780199534067.001.0001/acref-9780199534067[ Accessed on: 20 May 2007].

 

Referencing a PowerPoint Presentation

IN-TEXT CITATION

Dlamini (2006) ...

.... (Dlamin, 2006)

"....." (Dlamini, 2006: PowerPoint presentation)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A POWERPOINT PRESENTATION

Author’s surname, Initials. Year. ‘Title.’ [PowerPoint presentation] Date.  Institution, place.

Please note that in this case, the title is not italicised.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A POWERPOINT PRESENTATION

Dlamini, N. 2006. ‘E-commerce trends in retail in South Africa.’ [PowerPoint Presentation] 4 November.  Business Solutions Inc., Midrand.

INTERNET SOURCES

GENERAL GUIDELINES

There are numerous approaches to citing works from the Internet. In order to maintain consistency, the following points should be noted.

  • be consistent throughout and in line with the preferred style guide;
  • cite enough information for the reader to locate the citation in future;
  • many Web documents do give an author somewhere on the page. If not explicit or obvious, the author's name may be found in the header of the HTML encoded text.  You can view this by choosing the option to view document source. Otherwise, use the title as the main reference point, as you would with any anonymous work;
  • cite the exact URL of the webpage and the date on which the document was last updated, if this is apparent. If not available, only provide the date on which the document was accessed;
  • do not allow the URL to run over into the second line. Should this not be possible, start the URL on the second indented line;
  • use the symbols <  ... > to delineate the start and the end of an URL, for example:<http://www.unisa.ac.za>

  • if there is no page number, use inverted commas at the beginning and end of the quote and add (Weida & Stolley, 2013).  If no date is given, it is cited (Weida & Stolley, no date).

IN-TEXT CITATION

Weida and Stolley (2013) ...

.... (Weida & Stolley, 2013)

"....." (Weida & Stolley, 2013:25)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO AN INTERNET SITE

Author’s/ Editor’s Surname, Initials. Year. (Or, “No date” if date of publication Is not given in the source). Title (in italics) [online].  Place of publication: Publisher (publisher in the traditional sense, or the organisation responsible for maintaining the site on the internet). Available from: URL <   > [Date accessed]. (This is the date on which you viewed or downloaded the document) 

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN INTERNET SITE  WITH A DATE

Smith, J. 1999. Outsourcing logistics [online]. Chicago: Logistics International. Available from: <http://www.logisticsinternational.org.us/html> [Accessed on: 28 November 1999].

Weida, S & Stolley, K. 2013. Developing strong thesis statements. Available from: <https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/588/1/> [Accessed on: 13 October 2015].

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN INTERNET SITE WITHOUT A DATE

Lane, C. et al. n.d. The future of professionalised work: UK and Germany compared [online]. London: Anglo-German Foundation for the Study of Industrial Society. Available from: <http://agf.org.uk/pubs/pdfs/1232web.pdf> [Accessed on: 10 May 2007].

 

Legal Sources

IN -TEXT CITATION

Statutes and Acts

The Bill of Rights (1996)...

.... (South Africa, Banking Act, 1990, s 38A). 

"....." (South Africa. Banking Act, 1990: ii-iv).

Court cases

......(Hoffmann v South African Airways 2001 (1) SA 1 (CC) (hereinafter the Hoffmann case).

"....." (Hoffmann v South African Airways 2001 (1) SA 1 (CC) [137] (hereinafter the Hoffmann case)

Laws have two titles, a long official title, and a short title. The short title is mostly used in-text references. The title of the act can be followed by its number and year (as relevant to the act, not the year of publication).

EXAMPLES OF A REFERENCE TO AN ACT OR STATUTE

South Africa. 1962. Income Tax Act 58 of 1962. Available at: <https://www.gov.za/sites/default/files/Act%2058%20of%201962s_0.pdf> [Accessed on: 1 March 2015].

South Africa. 2002. Land and Agricultural Development Bank Act 15 of 2002. Available at: <https://www.gov.za/sites/www.gov.za/files/a15-02.pdf>  [Accessed on: 22 May 2014]

South Africa. 2005. National Credit Act 34 of 2005. Available at: <https://www.legalrights.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/NATIONAL-CREDIT-ACT-NO.-34-OF-2005.pdf> [Accessed on: 1 April 2018].

South Africa. 1990. Banks Act 94 1990 (as amended). Available at: <https://www.resbank.co.za/Lists/News%20and%20Publications/Attachments/2591/Banks+Amendment+Act+2007%5B1%5D.pdf> [Accessed on: 17 July 2017]

South Africa. 1937. Deeds Registries Act 47 of 1937. Pretoria. Government Printer.

 

EXAMPLES OF A REFERENCE TO A COURT CASE

S v Maseko 1990 (1) SACR 107 (A)

Hurwitz v Taylor 1926 TPD 81

Hoffmann v South African Airways 2001 (1) SA 1 (CC)

Metal and Allied Workers Union and Another v A Mauchle (Pty) Ltd t/a Precision Tools (1980) 1 ILJ 227 (IC) 152

Referencing Case Studies

IN-TEXT CITATION

Spar and Burns (2000) ...

.... (Spar & Burns, 2000)

"....." (Spar & Burns, 2000:8)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A CASE STUDY

Author’s surname, Initials. Year. ‘Title.’ Case number. Place: Publisher or Institution.

Note that the title is not italicised.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A PRINTED CASE STUDY

Spar, D. and Burns, J. 2000. ‘Hitting the wall: Nike and International Labor Practices.’ HBS 700047.  Boston: Harvard Business School Publishing.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN ELECTRONIC CASE STUDY FROM A DATABASE

Mathu, K.M. and Scheepers, C. 2016.  'Leading change towards sustainable green coal mining'. Available from:Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies, < https://www.emeraldinsight.com/doi/full/10.1108/EEMCS-01-2016-0007> [Accessed on: 7 June 2017].

Images, Tables, Diagrams etc

IN-TEXT CITATION

Mintzberg(1979) ...

.... (Mintzberg, 1979)

"....." (Mintzberg, 1979:186)

  • ​Any image, diagram, table etc. needs a caption as well as an in-text citation to the original work
  • If the image, diagram, table etc. being cited belongs to the author of the book, then cite the book as normal, but include the page number as if you were performing a direct quote.
  • If the image, diagram table etc. being cited does not belong to the author of the book, then you will need to add additional information.

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A IMAGE OR DIAGRAM

Author' s Surname, Initial. Year. Title of the Work. [Material Type]. In Author/Editors' surname, Initial. Year. ​Title. Place of Publication: Publishers. page number.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN  IMAGE  FROM A PRINT BOOK

Mintzberg, H. 1979. The basic parts of organisations – Mintzberg’s model. [Diagram] In: Cole, G.A. 2004. Management theory and practice. 6th ed. London: Thomson. 186.

 

Referencing Journal Articles

IN-TEXT CITATION

Terrill (1992) ...

.... (Terrill, 1992)

"....." (Terrill, 1992:25)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A JOURNAL ARTICLE

Author’s Surname, Initials. Date of publication. Title of article, Journal name (in italics) followed by a comma, volume number (part no): page numbers.

Note that the title of the article is in quotation marks.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A PRINTED JOURNAL ARTICLE

Terrill, C.A. 1992. The ten commandments of new service development, Management Review, 81(2): 24-27.

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO AN ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLE

Note:   Use these guidelines when the pagination of journals on electronic full-text databases differs from their print equivalent, or is not supplied at all, or is only in HTML format. It is important to indicate to your reader which format of the journal you are using. 

Author’s Surname, Initials. Year. Title of article, Journal title, (in italics) [type of medium], volume (issue number): pagination if given or any other indicator of length. Available at: Supplier/Database Name and Number/Identifier Number, Item or Accession Number [Date accessed]

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE

Husted, B.W. and Allen, D. B. 2000. Is it ethical to use ethics as strategy?, ​Journal of Business Ethics, 27(1-2): 17-18. Available at: <https://link.springer.com/article/10.1023/A:1006422704548>. [ Accessed on:13 October 2015].

Husted, B.W. and Allen, D. B. 2000. Is it ethical to use ethics as strategy?, ​Journal of Business Ethics, 27(1-2): 17-18. doi:10.1023/A:1006422704548. [ Accessed on:13 October 2015].

A DOI is a unique ID number that publishers use  to identify electronic articles. If there is a DOI, the URL is not needed. If there is no DOI, then you need to add the URL

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM AN ONLINE ONLY JOURNAL

Nicolaides, A. 2018, Ethical Hospitality Marketing, Brand-Boosting and Business Sustainability, African Journal of Hospitatlity, Tourism and Leisure, 7(1). Available at :<https://www.ajhtl.com/uploads/7/1/6/3/7163688/article_7_vol_7__1__2018.pdf> [Accessed on: 29 March 2018].

Note: the same principles of 'and' versus '&', and the principles regarding the number of authors, are applicable to citing and referencing journal articles 

This section deals with journal articles which have been submitted for publication, but have not been published yet.

IN-TEXT CITATION

Murray (2001) ...

.... (Murray, 2001)

"....." (Murray, 2001: article submitted for publication).

In this case, refer to it as (Murray, 2001).  When quoting directly, indicate that it has not yet been published, as follows:  “... e-commerce promises quick profits, but suppliers must be cautious...” (Murray, 2001: article submitted for publication).

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A JOURNAL ARTICLE SUBMITTED FOR PUBLICATION

Author’s Surname, Initials. Year of submission. 'Title of article', Journal name (in italics). Manuscript submitted for publication.

ARTICLES SUBMITTED FOR PUBLICATION

Murray, J. 2001. 'E-commerce, is it that promising?' PC Week. Manuscript submitted for publication.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A JOURNAL ARTICLE SUBMITTED FOR PUBLICATION

Murray, J. 2001. ‘E-commerce, is it that promising?’ PC Week. Manuscript submitted for publication.

 

Omah (2001) ...

.... Omah, 2001)

"....." (Omah, 2001 : in press).

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A JOURNAL ARTICLE THAT IS IN PRESS

Author’s Surname, Initials. Year of printing. ‘Title of article’, Journal name (in italics). Manuscript in press.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A JOURNAL ARTICLE THAT IS IN PRESS

Omah, A. 2001. ‘Service excellence in local business’, People Dynamics. Manuscript in press.

 

Referencing DVDs, Videos and Films

IN-TEXT CITATION

... (How to deal with cultural diversity in the workplace, 1999)

According to the video How to deal with cultural diversity in the workplace (1999)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A DVD, VIDEO OR FILM

Title (in italics). Year. [Format, i.e. DVD, Film or Video]. Subsidiary Originator (if given). SURNAME (in capitals). Production details (if available). Place of Production: Producing Organisation.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A DVD, VIDEO OR FILM

How to deal with cultural diversity in the work place. 1999. [Video]. Based on the book by Sally WALTON. Chicago, IL: Jack Wilson and Associates.

 

Referencing E-Mail

IN-TEXT CITATION

Jay (2001) ...

.... (Jay, 2001)

"....." (Jay, 2001: e-mail)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO AN E-MAIL

Sender’s Surname. Initials. (Sender’s E-mail address). (Day Month Year). Re: Subject of message (in italics). E-mail to Recipient (Recipient’s e-mail address)

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO AN E-MAIL

Jay, P. (jay54@hotmail.com) (  (9 March 2001). Re: Outsourcing supply. E-mail to M. Ndlovu (mndlovu@wsu.ac.za)

INTRODUCTION

IN-TEXT CITATION

... (Freeman 1996)

... (Freeman, 1998) ...

"....." (University of South Africa, 1997: 67)

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A STUDY GUIDE

Author’s/Editor’s Surname and Initials. Year of publication. Title of study  guide (in italics). Edition. Place of publication: Publisher.

OR

Name of the University. Teaching Department. Year. Title of study guide (in italics). Place of publication.

EXAMPLES OF A REFERENCE TO A STUDY GUIDE

Freeman, T. 1998.  Leadership for South African Organisations: study guide for  BUSS018.. Pretoria: University of South Africa.

Spar, D. and Burns, J. 2000. ‘Hitting the Wall: Nike and International Labor Practices.’ HBS 700047.  Boston: Harvard Business School Publishing.

University of South Africa. Graduate School of Business Leadership. 1997. Transforming organisations in South Africa: study guide for MBL018-C. Pretoria.

 

Referencing Publications of a Corporate Body

When a publication is not the work of an individual author or of authors working collectively but comes from an organization, association, international organisation, government or any official body, then the authorship is attributed to that corporate body. This will include reports published by these entities.

IN-TEXT CITATION

Anglo American (2017) ...

... (International Monetary Fund, 1977).

"....." (International Monetary Fund, 1977: 341).

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO A PUBLICATION OF A CORPORATE BODY

Name of Issuing Body. Year of publication. Title of publication (in italics). Place of publication: Publisher. Report Number (when applicable).

EXAMPLES OF PRINTED REFERENCES

International Monetary Fund. 1977. Balance of payments manual. 4th ed. Washington, DC: International Monetary Fund.

South Africa.  Central Statistical Service. 1996. Statistical release. PO317. Pretoria: Central Statistical Service.

UNESCO. 1999. General information programme and summary of activities. Paris: UNESCO. (PGI-93/WS/22).

If the corporate body is both the author and publisher of the document, it is named twice.

EXAMPLES OF ELECTRONIC REFERENCES

FORMAT OF A REFERENCE TO AN UNPUBLISHED REPORT

Author’s Surname, Initials. Year. Title. Details of the purpose of the report. Unpublished.

EXAMPLE OF A REFERENCE TO A PRINTED REPORT

Collins, J. 1997. Report on visit to international business schools. Report to the Unisa Graduate School of Business Leadership. Unpublished.

Note: The title of an unpublished work will not be italicised.