LibGuides: Faculty of Law, Humanities &amp; Social Sciences: Databases

Law Databases

A - Z DATABASES
Find the best Library databases for your research
Jutalaw
Juta is South Africa’s leading academic and law publisher trusted for quality academic, legal, professional and school publications in print and electronic format. Juta’s Premier Law Journals serve as a forum for the expression and scrutiny of evolving jurisprudence both within South Africa and internationally. Covering a broad spectrum of legal topics and containing the views and critiques of South Africa’s academics, Juta’s law journals are available in a variety of traditional print and research-enabling electronic formats with workplace application and researchability foremost in mind.
Lexisnexis
LexisNexis Legal & Professional is a leading global provider of legal, regulatory and business information and analytics that help customers increase productivity, improve decision-making and outcomes, and advance the rule of law around the world. As a digital pioneer, the company was the first to bring legal and business information online with its Lexis® and Nexis® services. LexisNexis Legal & Professional, which serves customers in more than 160 countries with 10,400 employees worldwide, is part of RELX, a global provider of information-based analytics and decision tools for professional and business customers.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 199 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
more...less...
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching. To improve the discoverability of relevant content, we’ve also incorporated unique artificial intelligence tools and research aids throughout our various databases.
Sabinet Discover
A full-text collection with trade and scholarly publications relating to South African and African law. It includes publications relating to fields of criminal law, estate planning, human rights law, tax and company law, and more.
N.B. Please check under Training Videos on how to search this Platform
Wiley Online Library (Law)
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, ...

SAFLII This link opens in a new window
The Southern African Legal Information Institute publishes legal information for free public access which comprises mainly of case law from South Africa. SAFLII also hosts legal materials from other countries in the region which are obtained through partnerships, collaborative efforts and more recently through linking to other Legal Information Institutes established in these regions. All information is offered on a free and open basis subject to our terms of use and is continuously updated.

Springer Link (Law)
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Taylor & Francis Online (Law)
Taylor & Francis Online brings together over 2,700 journals, including the world’s largest program of Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge; cutting-edge theoretical and applied Science, Technology and Medicine content from Taylor & Francis; and CogentOA, a suite of broad-spectrum open access journals.

Government Gazettes This link opens in a new window
SA Gazettes offers immediate access to the full text of South African Government and Provincial Gazettes and Parliamentary Bills with daily Government Gazette alerts. Government Gazettes are available from January 1994, Provincial Gazettes from September 1995 and Parliamentary Bills from January 1999.
NetLaw - South African Legislation This link opens in a new window
NetLaw includes all updated and consolidated South African principle Acts, rules and regulations as from 1910 to date.

Humanities and Social Sciences Databases

A - Z DATABASES
Find the best Library databases for your research
EBSCOHOST
EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. It is a customizable, intuitive search experience designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research, with many full text and secondary databases available.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, ...
JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Proquest
Full-text database with more than 11,000 titles - with over 8,000 in full text in a single database. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels around the world.
Sabinet Discover
A full-text collection with trade and scholarly publications that focus social sciences and humanities related content. It includes publications relating to fields of democracy and governance, gender, history, language, and many more
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

SAFLII This link opens in a new window
The Southern African Legal Information Institute publishes legal information for free public access which comprises mainly of case law from South Africa. SAFLII also hosts legal materials from other countries in the region which are obtained through partnerships, collaborative efforts and more recently through linking to other Legal Information Institutes established in these regions. All information is offered on a free and open basis subject to our terms of use and is continuously updated.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 199 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases. The journals in this database span more than 1,500 research subjects like:
Political Science
Science and Technology
Criminal Justice
Immigration
Economics
Religion
International Relations
Gender and Sexuality
And many more!
Springer Link
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor & Francis Online brings together over 2,700 journals, including the world’s largest program of Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge; cutting-edge theoretical and applied Science, Technology and Medicine content from Taylor & Francis; and CogentOA, a suite of broad-spectrum open access journals.

Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a community-curated list of open access journals that are freely available online. It aims to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage, and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline. DOAJ is a trusted source for finding high-quality, open access research.
Bloomsbury Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 6,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing.

Faculty of Law, Humanities & Social Sciences: Databases

bannerlaw

Law Databases

Humanities and Social Sciences Databases