Skip to Main Content

EndNote Referencing Manager: Getting Started

Learn how to use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online for their most common functions.

EndNote Access

EndNote is a popular citation management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

Downloading EndNote Desktop
EndNote X9 is available to WSU students and faculty for free through the Software Download Service at WSU Intranet. The site gives detailed instructions on the download process.

EndNote Online is the online component of EndNote. All WSU students and faculty have access to EndNote Online when you download the EndNote desktop software. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the WSU network, using your WSU email address.

Acknowledgement

This guide includes content adapted with permission from the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.

Functions of EndNote

EndNote as a reference and full text organizer with a collaborative Web tool:

  • Group references according to your research projects and attach up to 45 files per record for managing related materials.
  • Locate full text PDF files for you or create a reference when importing a PDF file. Synchronize references and file attachments to your EndNote Web account.
  • Share groups with other EndNote users easily and manage your ResearcherID publication list.

EndNote as a bibliography maker

  • Cite While You Write™ takes the pain out of citing and formatting references in Microsoft Word, and OpenOffice.org Writer 3 for Windows. You can also create bibliographies for other word processors using Format Paper (RTF files).

EndNote as an online search tool

  • You can search online bibliographic resources and retrieve references directly into your EndNote library. You can also export references to EndNote from your favorite online resource (see "Direct Export Providers" in EndNote Help).

How to use EndNote in 6 Minutes - Windows

How to use EndNote in 6 Minutes - macOS

EndNote Desktop vs EndNote Online